9 - 18 March 2018


4 MARCH - 13 MARCH 2022 (UTC)


The PyeongChang 2018 Winter Paralympic Games will be take place between 9-18 March 2018.

The Games will feature up to 670 athletes, a 24 per cent increase on the 539 athletes that competed at Sochi 2014. This number includes a 44 per cent increase in the number of female athletes set compete compared to Sochi.

Athletes will compete in 80 medal events across six sports: alpine skiing, biathlon, cross-country skiing, ice sledge hockey, snowboard and wheelchair curling.

Alpine skiing events will take place at the Jeongseon Alpine Centre and the Yongpyong Alpine Centre, which will also stage snowboard events. The Aplensia Biathlon Centre will stage biathlon and cross-country events.

The Coastal Cluster will host the ice events. Ice sledge hockey will take place at the Gangneung Hockey Centre which is currently under construction and should be ready for November 2016. The Gangneung Curling Centre will stage wheelchair curling.

PyeongChang was elected as host city following one round of voting at the 123rd IOC Session in Durban, South Africa.

Three cities bid for the Games, PyeongChang, Korea, received 63 votes; Munich, Germany, 25 votes and Annecy, France, 7 votes.



PyeongChang Paralympic Games

This website has only been made possible
thanks to the generous support of Sport New Zealand


Major Partners

ACCSanfordCadburyHigh Performance Sport New Zealand

Supporting Partners

Adecco Blue Star Invacare Harvey Norman VISA

New Zealand Chambers of Commerce Attitude Live BLK Maersk Oceanbridge 

Supply Partners

Simpson Gierson House of Travel Hot Events Millennium Collection

Gaming Partners

 New Zealand Racing BoardPub CharityThe Lion FoundationNew Zealand Community Trust