Donate Now
News posted on Tuesday 20th June, 2017

Nominees for 2017 IPC Governing Board elections announced including Kiwi Duane Kale

Duane Kale Nominated for IPC Governing Board

The International Paralympic Committee (IPC) announced on Monday (19 June) the names of the candidates who will stand for election to the IPC Governing Board on 8 September at the IPC General Assembly in Abu Dhabi, UAE.

A total of 29 nominations have been approved by the IPC for 26 candidates and the IPC’s announcement effectively heralds the start of campaigning for the 12 positions available within the IPC Governing Board.

There are four candidates aiming to succeed Sir Philip Craven as the IPC President: Patrick Jarvis, Andrew Parsons, John Petersson and Haidi Zhang.

Three people are standing for the role of Vice President: Duane Kale, John Petersson and Majid Rashed.
Twenty two candidates have been nominated for Member at Large positions.

Three candidates – John Petersson, Duane Kale and Majid Rashed – have been nominated for two positions, although they can only be elected for one position.

Duane Kale is well known as a six-time Paralympic medallist, current Paralympics New Zealand and IPC Governing Board member.

Duane says, “I want to be part of the team that leverages the great platform established by those who have gone before us, ensuring that Paralympic sport continues to shape countries, influence Governments, change societies and at the same time (and most importantly) create aspirational Para athletes and Paralympians across an increased number of countries to inspire others.”

The IPC Governing Board  will consist of one President, one Vice President and 10 Members at Large and all will be elected by the IPC membership which consists of National Paralympic Committees, International Sport Federations, International Organisations of Sport for the Disabled (IOSDs) and Regional Organisations. In addition to the elected members, Chelsey Gotell, Chairperson of the IPC Athletes’ Council, and Xavier Gonzalez, IPC Chief Executive Officer, are ex-officio members of the Governing Board, although only Gotell has a vote.

The nominees for all roles, listed in alphabetical order, are as follows (Nationality and nominating body in brackets):

For IPC President (one to be elected)
 Patrick Jarvis (CAN – NPC Canada)
 Andrew Parsons (BRA – NPC Brazil)
 John Petersson (DEN – NPC Denmark)
 Haidi Zhang (CHN – NPC China)

For IPC Vice President (one to be elected)
 Duane Kale (NZL – NPC New Zealand)
 John Petersson (DEN – NPC Denmark)
 Majid Rashed (UAE – Asian Paralympic Committee)

For Member at Large
 Debra Alexander (RSA – ITU)
 Mohammed Alhameli (UAE – NPC UAE)
 Anne d’Ieteren (BEL – NPC Belgium)
 Marianna “Muffy“ Davis (USA – NPC USA)
 Rita van Driel (NED – NPC Netherlands)
 Hamid El Aouni (MAR – NPC Morocco)
 Duane Kale (NZL – NPC New Zealand)
 Sung Il Kim (KOR – NPC Korea)
 Luca Pancalli (ITA – NPC Italy)
 Leonel da Rocha Pinto (ANG – African Paralympic Committee)
 Karl Quade (GER – NPC Germany)
 Majid Rashed (UAE – Asian Paralympic Committee)
 Tim Reddish (GBR – NPC Great Britain)
 Juan Pablo Salazar (COL – NPC Colombia)
 László Szabó (HUN – NPC Hungary)
 Imran Shani (PAK – NPC Pakistan)
 Rao Inderjit Singh (IND – NPC India)
 Robyn Smith (AUS – INAS)
 Joe Walsh (USA – IBSA)
 Kevin Wong (SGP – NPC Singapore)
 Yasushi Yamawaki (JPN – NPC Japan)
 Jia Yong (CHN – NPC China)

All nominee applications have been reviewed by the IPC Credentials Commission against the criteria and conditions for nominations in accordance with the IPC rules and regulations. Mark Copeland, IPC Legal & Ethics Committee (LEC) member, is the Chairperson of the IPC Credentials Commission and he was joined by Members Linda Mastandrea, LEC Chairperson, and Dr. Robert Steadward, former IPC President.  As part of its ongoing remit, the IPC Credentials Commission will be working with an external certifying agency to finalise the vetting of candidate backgrounds in the course of the next several weeks.

Accompanying the announcement of candidates for election is the activation of the IPC Electoral Commission, which will act to ensure that all candidates adhere to Article 12 of the IPC Code of Ethics – Code of Conduct for Candidates to Election between now and 8 September, the day of elections. The IPC Electoral Commission is chaired by Mastandrea, and joined by members Copeland and Steadward.

On 6 September each candidate will have the opportunity to make a presentation on their candidature to the IPC membership attending the IPC General Assembly in Abu Dhabi.

You may also like

  • Sphie Pascoe Portrait Session

    Who are the most famous Paralympians?

    The Paralympic Games are defined by the Para athletes that compete and inspire those around them. Defined by the core values of the Paralympic Movement – determination, equality, inspiration, and courage – we have seen some absolutely incredible Paralympians…
    Read More about Who are the most famous Paralympians?.
  • slender cyclist in black uniform waves and smiles at the end of a race on the track

    Kiwi Paralympian shortlisted for major global Laureus Award

    New Zealand Paralympian #222 Nicole Murray is shortlisted for a prestigious Laureus World Sports Award for her remarkable achievements in 2023. The Laureus World Sports Awards is the premier global sporting awards. First held in 2000,…
    Read More about Kiwi Paralympian shortlisted for major global Laureus Award.

Our Partners

Major Partner

Official Partners

Team Supporters

Official Suppliers

Funding Partners