Donate Now
News posted on Monday 27th November, 2017

Order of Merit presented as ParaFed Canterbury celebrate their 50 Year Anniversary and Sports Awards

Order of Merit Canterbury

ParaFed Canterbury celebrated their 50 year anniversary and 2017 Sports Awards with a spectacular function at the Show Gate Function Centre at Riccarton Racecourse on Saturday 25 November 2017.

Sophie Pascoe, New Zealand’s most successful Paralympian, was named the 2017 ParaFed Canterbury Sportsperson of the Year for a record 10th time in the organisations history. Earlier in the evening, Pascoe was also awarded ParaFed Canterbury Life Membership and joins only 12 other Cantabrians to be awarded this honour. Prior to this she was presented with her PNZ Order of Merit by Paralympics New Zealand Chairperson Selwyn Maister.

Over 150 guests were treated to various displays and on screen “moments in time“ that celebrated the key years and people that have been part of ParaFed Canterbury’s history.

As well as celebrating 50 years, the evening was also their 2017 Sports Awards.

Award winners:

2017 Sportsperson of the Year: Sophie Pascoe – Para swimming
2017 Junior Sportsperson of the Year: William Stedman – Para athletics
2017 Emerging Talent of the Year: Lilian Exton
2017 Spirit in Sport Award: Hamish Cleary
2017 Most Valued Volunteer: Alex McIntyre
2017 Club Swimmer of the Year: Ieuan Edwards
2017 Boccia Player of the Year: Jeremy Morriss
2017 Shooting Club Ultimate Shot Award: Grant Philip
2017 Wheelchair Rugby Most Valuable Player: Sholto Taylor
Graham Condon Scholarship Recipient: Celyn Edwards

ParaFed Canterbury also awarded 15 athlete and coach scholarships to support developing athletes and coaches on their sporting journeys.

The event was sponsored by McDonald’s Canterbury, a family owned business who are a fantastic supporter of the Canterbury Community. An additional nine local businesses supported individual sports awards throughout the evening.

ParaFed Canterbury has always had a high profile in the region and a proud history of providing support to athletes in the Canterbury region that have then gone on to be selected for New Zealand Paralympic Games Teams. The ParaFed Canterbury alumnus is a who’s who of Paralympic sport, including Pascoe, double amputee mountaineer Mark Inglis, and the late Graham Condon and Neroli Fairhall.

Photo (L to R): Roly Crichton, Kathy Condon, Jim Mckie, Sophie Pascoe, Clive Power (back) and Trevor James and Colin Willis (front). Photo credit – Carrie Prendeville.

You may also like

  • Sphie Pascoe Portrait Session

    Who are the most famous Paralympians?

    The Paralympic Games are defined by the Para athletes that compete and inspire those around them. Defined by the core values of the Paralympic Movement – determination, equality, inspiration, and courage – we have seen some absolutely incredible Paralympians…
    Read More about Who are the most famous Paralympians?.
  • slender cyclist in black uniform waves and smiles at the end of a race on the track

    Kiwi Paralympian shortlisted for major global Laureus Award

    New Zealand Paralympian #222 Nicole Murray is shortlisted for a prestigious Laureus World Sports Award for her remarkable achievements in 2023. The Laureus World Sports Awards is the premier global sporting awards. First held in 2000,…
    Read More about Kiwi Paralympian shortlisted for major global Laureus Award.

Our Partners

Major Partner

Official Partners

Official Suppliers

Funding Partners