Posted on Tuesday 17th January, 2023

Six Para athletes have been named among the 30 finalists in the Halberg Awards for the greatest sporting achievements in 2022.

Five of the finalists have been shortlisted for the ISPS Handa Para Athlete/ Para Team of the Year. Para alpine ski racers Corey Peters, who won gold and silver at the Beijing 2022 Paralympic Winter Games, and Adam Hall who also won two bronze medals are both shortlisted. Para cyclist Nicole Murray was crowned a double world champion at the Track World Championships and is a finalist. Commonwealth Games gold medallist Dame Sophie Pascoe and fellow Para swimmer and S4 100m Freestyle World Champion Cameron Leslie are also finalists.

Para Swimmer Joshua Wilmer is shortlisted for the Emerging Talent Award. He broke the NZ breaststroke record at the Para Swimming World Championships and also won gold at the Commonwealth Games.

For Para athlete/team of the year (eligible for Supreme Award):

  • Cameron Leslie – Para swimming (top left)
  • Nicole Murray – Para cycling (top right)
  • Adam Hall – Para alpine skiing (bottom left)
  • Dame Sophie Pascoe – Para swimming (bottom centre)
  • Corey Peters – Para alpine skiing (bottom right)

And for Emerging talent:

  • Joshua Willmer – Para swimming (not pictured here)

Para alpine skier Corey Peters’ spectacular performance in Beijing 2022 is also up for NZ’s favourite sporting moment of 2022. The public can vote for Corey here.

Paralympics New Zealand congratulates all the finalists.

The winners will be announced at the 60th ISPS Handa Halberg Awards ceremony at Spark Arena, Auckland on Wednesday 15 February 2023. The Awards are broadcast live on Sky Sport and free to air on Prime TV from 8:30pm.